Thanksgiving is bad

“There’s no bed for him,” I said.

“We’ll bring in the inflatable mattress,” Mom said. “Just like when Tommy sleeps over.”

“But he’s my friend!” I said. “Chip is different.”

“Chip’ll take up less space than Tommy,” Matt said. “You’ll barely notice he’s there.” He gave me his classic evil older brother grin. He knew Chip drove me crazy.

“He’ll mess everything up!” I protested.

“He can’t,” Mabel said. “Your room’s already a mess.”

“Matt, Mabel, please stay out of this. Charlie, you can put away the things you’re worried about,” Mom said. “And you do need to clean up your room.”

Boogers!

Now I not only had to let Chip sleep in my room, I had to clean it up for him!

mattandmabel“This isn’t fair,” I said.

As soon as I said it, I knew what was going to happen.

Matt and the Squid sang out together, “LIFE’S NOT FAIR!”

They thought they were being funny.

Ha ha ha.

“That’s not funny,” I said.

Matt grinned. “Oh, yes it is.”

The Squid started to laugh.

“That’s enough,” Dad said. “If Charlie’s going to let Chip stay in his room, we can at least be nice to him about it.”

“But I didn’t say he could stay in my room!”

“I think it’s best for everyone if he stays there, Charlie,” Mom said. “He likes being with you and—”

“It’s not best for me!” I said.

“Calm down, Charlie,” Dad said. “It’s going to be okay. It’s only for a couple of nights.”

“It’s going to be okay, Charlie,” the Squid said, copying my dad. “That’s spelled with an o and a k.”

My whole family was teaming up against me. They were going to have a great Thanksgiving, and I was going to have to put up with that doofy little turkey!

Leave a Reply

